For Immediate Release March 31, 2017:


The Phoenix Club of Philadelphia announces the 2017 Winner of the Dawn Staley Award

Kelsey Plum, Senior Guard, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Dawn Staley Award.


“The Dawn Staley Award is given to the most outstanding collegiate guard in the country; a

player who exemplifies the skills that Dawn possessed during her career (ball handling, scoring,her ability to distribute the basketball and her will to win).” says Michael G. Horsey, Founder of the Phoenix Club of Philadelphia.


"For four years Kelsey has been exactly the kind of ambassador women's basketball

needs - she's exciting, she's talented, and most of all, she's driven. You don't become

the highest scoring player in the history of the game without putting in the work, off the

court, every single day. No one is more deserving of this award because no one has

worked harder for it. Kelsey is the type of player young girls around the world can look

up to, and we're all looking forward to seeing what she does next." says Dawn Staley.


Kelsey Plum, a 5’8” senior guard from the University of Washington, is the all-time NCAA

scoring leader exceeding the mark this year (3,393 points) held by Jackie Stiles. Kelsey is this year’s Pac-12 “Player of the Year,” 1st team AllPac-12 and lead the nation in scoring with a 31.7 average.


Dawn Staley will present the award to Kelsey Plum during the Phoenix Club of Philadelphia’s

Dawn Staley Award luncheon on Thursday, April 6, 2017, at the prestigious Union League of



For Immediate Release February 6, 2017:


The Dawn Staley Award announces its Mid-Season 2017 Watch List

Adrienne Motley

Alexis Jones

Alexis Peterson

Allisha Gray

Amy Griffin

Brittney Sykes

Diamond DeShields

Feyonda Fitzgerald

Jordin Canada

Katie Lou Samuelson

Kelsey Mitchell

Kelsey Plum

Lexie Brown

Makayla Epps

Morgan William

Shatori Walker-Kimbrough

Sydney Wiese

Teniya Page

Tori Jankoska




University of Miami

Baylor University

Syracuse University

University of South Carolina

LaSalle University

Syracuse University

University of Tennessee

Temple University


University of Connecticut

Ohio State University

University of Washington

Duke University

University of Kentucky

Mississippi State University

University of Maryland

Oregon State University

Penn State University

Michigan State



Copyright 2013-2019 Phoenix Club of Philadelphia